Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Silver is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 3 reviews, with an average score of 4.0 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

71% client recommended

Reviews (37)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-06 10:06:23

No description provided

— Peer 02/06/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 14:38:43

Ellen is a credit to the New Jersey Bar and a valued member of the legal community.

— Peer 01/29/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 08:14:06

No description provided

— Peer 01/29/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2012-08-28 11:50:50

an extemely competent matrimonial attorney

— Peer 08/28/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-08-20 07:35:51

Since I practice in a different area of law,this review is based, in part, on information from other attorneys. I know Ellen best from her work as trustee of two different bar organizations. I am usually inclined to give "B", rather than "A", ratings to good lawyers.

— Peer 08/20/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-20 04:25:56

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-12 17:42:01

No description provided

— Peer 07/12/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-05 09:55:35

No description provided

— Peer 07/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-05 09:54:31

No description provided

— Peer 07/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2011-07-18 10:02:37

No description provided

— Peer 07/18/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-07-09 08:40:27

No description provided

— Peer 07/09/2011

4.8 / 5.0
2012-07-20 10:12:41

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

4.2 / 5.0
2012-07-12 09:46:49

No description provided

— Peer 07/12/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 14:28:39

No description provided

— Peer 01/29/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2012-08-29 16:28:48

No description provided

— Peer 08/29/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2012-07-20 11:31:09

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2012-07-10 11:25:35

She is a well respected attorney in the community by Judges, peers, adversaries and litigants. Jean is a hard worker and knowingly advocates for her clients.

— Peer 07/10/2012

3.8 / 5.0
2014-02-02 22:31:17

No description provided

— Peer 02/02/2014

3.6 / 5.0
2012-08-20 15:37:41

No description provided

— Peer 08/20/2012

3.2 / 5.0
2014-01-30 12:06:25

No description provided

— Peer 01/30/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-13

I went to Jean for a premarital agreement. Jean gave me great advise and pointed out key suggestions to put into the agreement that I never would have even thought of. She explained everything very well and was extremely helpful. I was also dealing with the stress of my destination wedding being postponed due to the pandemic and Jean was very compassionate. Gail is a sweetheart and made calling for appointments and what not very pleasant. Working nights, they worked around my sleep schedule for our meetings.

— Client 06/13/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-12

I have been very happy with the work Jean and her assistant Gail have provided me over the years with my divorce and post divorce proceedings. I highly recommend Her.

— Client 06/12/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-10

Ellen represented me in the most professional manner, her ethics are of the highest standards. Her friendship , courtesy ,knowledge and honesty have become very important to me during the last year as she represented me in my divorce. Her staff also were extremely kind and reassuring during a difficult and frightening time in my life.

— Client 06/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08

Ellen represented me in connection with a post-dissolution matter, which included custody issues that ultimately led to a court hearing which was like a mini trial. She was fully prepared for and artfully conducted direct, cross examination, and submission of evidence for the Judge's consideration. She was firm yet polite and professional with a very difficult pro se on the other side. As a result of Ellen's hard work, I now have full custody of my daughter and she is in a healthy, loving environment 100% of the time, as opposed to only 50%.

— Client 06/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-07

Ellen is very easy to work with. She is professional, knowledgeable and extremely well respected in legal circles, which I found can make quite a difference. I knew I could trust Ellen’s guidance since she always had my best interest in mind. She is fair, dependable and trustworthy and I highly recommended her services.

— Client 06/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-07

Ellen saved my life in many ways several years ago. My divorce was ugly and nasty and difficult, Ellen made me feel safe and cared for. She was always quickly responsive, as was her fabulous paralegal and office staff. She directed me sometimes gently and sometimes with a stronger hand that I needed. I trusted her fully. She was on my side as a person, not just as someone I was paying. She is extremely smart, a great advocate and I have referred many friends to her over the past several years. I hope you don't need a matrimonial attorney, but if you do, this is the partner you want!

— Client 06/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-07

Ellen Schwartz represented me in my divorce and then again in an additional child support case brought against me. She is professional, compassionate, experienced and prompt in handling family issues--which is so important in divorce proceedings. She helped me understand the process and gave excellent legal advice. It was a stressful time in my life and Ellen was a strong advocate for me and my child.

— Client 06/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-08-09

Ellen is a heaven sent, with this process its an emotional journey. She is someone that listens to you to understand your perspective and will guide you in this emotional journey. Ellen and her para-legal Lisa are quite the duo. Ellen takes the time to answer my many phone calls and emails. She is very knowledgeable and a no nonsense kind of attorney. I would highly recommend her to anyone going through this time of there life.

— Client 08/09/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-28

Ellen was a great representative during my divorce. She charged for the work she performed on my behalf as expected. Lawyers charge for their service and Ellen explained the fee structure in detail before we began the process. The value was excellent from my perspective.

— Client 09/28/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2010-08-05

I am a client of Cheryl M Spilka. She is very thorough and determined. I am always sure I have great ally in my corner whenever an issue surfaces. She is clear and concise and genuine when we discuss the situation at hand! {newline}I highly recommend her to anyone in need of these services. After my initial consultation a few years ago when this all began, i left there feeling much better and confident I would be ok after all was said and done! It was!

— Client 08/05/2010

4.8 / 5.0
2020-06-15

I highly recommend Jean Ramatowski and her law farm based on my experience with her, and other acquaintances of mine with her, as clients, as well. She was always there with my needs, concerns...with an insight that I could never have dealt with on my own. She truly calculates all the pros and cons and takes direct client centered action to get the best she can for you, her client. Also need to share that Ms. Gail Catapano, Jean's assistant, is a uniquely well versed expert in human interaction ( based on my experience), and is always able to listen and understand the pain that many men go through in divorce that they didn't want, but had to file on, such as I. Gail and Jean are an outstanding team delivering complete divorce care. They are compassionate, tactical and responsive!!!

— Client 06/15/2020

4.3 / 5.0
2020-06-11

When I hired Ellen for my divorce and child custody case, I was already being represented by an attorney that I wasn't having much success with. My consultation with Ellen was the first time I felt truly heard. She listened to me without interrupting and addressed every single one of my questions and concerns. During an extremely stressful and tumultuous time of my life, Ellen was my peace. I had an extremely high conflict divorce where every single term was disputed by my ex spouse. I felt extremely confident in her ability and guidance throughout the entire process. On top of being extremely knowledgeable, she's also incredibly kind. While I have now officially been divorced over 3 years, I still turn to Ellen when I have family/divorce legal questions or issues.

— Client 06/11/2020

1.0 / 5.0
2020-07-13

I cant speak of Ramatowski but avoid Schwartz at all cost, because it will cost you and it's not worth your money. She's a liar. She's more concerned with her legal fees. I wouldnt call her an ambulance chaser but she could use the exercise.

— Client 07/13/2020

1.0 / 5.0
2015-06-04

Ellen Schwartz is a dishonest lawyer.She is not competent. She does not provide any value for your money.She did not look out for my rights.All she was interested was getting paid.

— Client 06/04/2015

1.0 / 5.0
2014-07-23

If you want a good lawyer don't use Jean. She lies, shes late all the time, she lost me A LOT of money. She will charge you for every word spoken to her and every piece of paper sent to you. You really don't want her for your lawyer believe me. I am a female but I also know of a male that used her too and he hates her as much as I do.

— Client 07/23/2014

1.0 / 5.0
2010-08-20

expensive, unprofessional ,

— Client 08/20/2010

1.0 / 5.0
2009-07-13

She was late for every court hearing. She did little (VERY little) for my case. She got me nothing. I thought myself being a female and she also that she would have some compassion and help me nail the guy but thanks to her being late as usual she lost me everything. She is the most uncaring, uncompassionate person you could ever want to meet. Stay away! Also, I have a male friend that has used her services and he was just as unhappy with her and she was late for him all the time too!

— Client 07/13/2009